Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Learning 101

An introduction to library resources for students new to online learning.

Help! I need an article!

Whether you are a freshman or a doctoral student, you will eventually need to access journals/articles for your research. We have you covered!

Articles come from journals, and journals come either in print or in an online database. We maintain print subscriptions to some key journals that are either not in a database or the database only allows access to older issues. If you find an article in a journal to which we have a current print subscription, email us at library@sagu.edu with detailed information about the article and a librarian can help retrieve the volume from library storage. 

To access journal articles online, first decide which starting point below is best for you. Using that starting point, you should be on your way to successfully accessing online journals!

Articles in a Database

Wondering if the library has access to the full text of an article? Follow these steps when searching databases:

  1. Look for "PDF Full Tex" or "HTML Full Text". Full text as a PDF means that the article looks exactly as it did in the original print publication (including pictures and illustrations), and is available to open, download, or save. Full text as HTML means that the entire text of the article is available, but the text is no longer formatted like the original article (the article may also be lacking relevant images).
    Full text buttons
  2. Use the "Check for Full Text" link within databases. This tool utilizes our OCLC Journal A-Z list to help you determine if the article is available in full text in another database.
    Check for Full Text
  3. Us the "Search for Open Access" link within databases. This tool searches online to see if the journal article is freely available in an open access source.
    Search for Open Access
  4. If the article is not available through any of these methods, look for the "Request this item through interlibrary loan" link. This will transfer the article's citation information into a request form. Complete the form with your contact information and submit.
    Request Interlibrary Loan

Articles by Citation

In instances where you have found a citation for a journal article, but you cannot determine its full-text status, try searching for the journal using the Journal A-Z List.

  1. Open the Journal A-Z List
  2. Enter the journal's title and select "search"
    Journal Finder
  3. Select the search result with the right coverage for the specific issue you're looking for
    Select journal
  4. Select the appropriate year and issue from your citation
    Select issue
  5. Browse to the appropriate article from your citation
    Article