Follows the teachings initiated by William Rainey Harper and Wilber Webster White that became the curriculum for the Biblical Seminary in New York in 1900.
Custom Google search of theological journals which offer full-text for free.
Journals in a SAGU Database
Asian Journal of Pentecostal StudiesAJPS is a publication of the Asia Pacific Theological Seminary in Baguio, Philippines. APTS is “a cooperative ministry of the Assemblies of God national churches of Asia, Pacific Oceania, and the Assemblies of God World Missions-USA. A multi-national Board of Directors representing these various entities governs the school. The faculty and administration of APTS are also multi-national.”
Biblica“Published since 1920 by the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome, Biblica is a research journal and appears four times a year. It is dedicated to biblical studies on the Old and New Testament, and intertestamentary literature, and covers fields of research, such as exegesis, philology, and history.“
Biblical Theology Bulletin“Biblical Theology Bulletin is a distinctive, peer-reviewed, quarterly journal containing articles and reviews written by experts in biblical and theological studies. The editors select articles that provide insights derived from critical biblical scholarship, culture-awareness, and thoughtful reflection on meanings of import for scholars of Bible and religion, religious educators, clergy, and those engaged with social studies in religion, inter-religious studies, and the praxis of biblical religion today. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).“
Bibliotheca Sacra“For or over 165 years Bibliotheca Sacra’s studies in theology, Bible exposition, ministry, and current issues have provided an invaluable resource for serious Bible students. Its articles by respected theologians and reviews of the latest publications will enhance your ministry and deepen your theological insights.” This journal is published by Dallas Theological Seminary and will reflect the perspectives of that institution.
Bulletin of the American Schools of Oriental Research (BASOR)"A widely circulated English-language academic journal in ancient Near Eastern studies. Founded in 1919 by the American Schools of Oriental Research (ASOR), a consortium of research and educational institutions, BASOR serves as a forum for scholars worldwide. Subject areas include archaeology, history, anthropology, literature, philology, and epigraphy. The journal publishes technical reports of original research, preliminary reports of ASOR-sponsored excavations, reviews of current scholarship in the field, research notes, and book reviews.”
Catholic Biblical QuarterlyCBQ is published by the Catholic Biblical Association, whose purpose “is to promote, within a context of faith, scholarly study in Scripture and related fields by meetings of the association, publications, and support to those engaged in such studies.”
Early ChristianityAn international, peer-reviewed journal, this journal “is concerned with early Christianity as a historical phenomenon. Thereby, Early Christianity aims to overcome certain limitations which have hindered the development of the discipline, including the concept of the “New Testament” itself. The journal, then, is taken to cover not only the first Christian century but also the second. This journal will not, however, give any special prominence to reception-history or to the second century. The total phenomenon called “early Christianity” comprises a kaleidoscopic range of individual phenomena, including communal structures, social norms, discursive practices, points of conflict, material remains, and much else – far more than just the production and reception of texts. This journal will strive to reflect this multiplicity of contexts, in the expectation of new light on our subject-matter from a variety of angles.”
Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses (ETL)"Founded in 1924, is a quarterly publication by professors of Theology and Canon Law at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven and the Université catholique de Louvain (Louvain-la-Neuve). As a peer-reviewed and internationally distributed journal, it publishes articles, notes and comments, and reviews (in English, French, German) on all aspects of theology and canon law for an academic readership. The journal appears in four installments (March, June, September, December). Each issue contains ca. 180 pages, for a total of ca. 750 pages per volume.”
Ex Auditu“Ex Auditu began as the journal incorporating the papers of the Fredrick Neumann Symposium of Princeton Theological Seminary. After the first four volumes the journal began publishing the papers from the North Park Symposium on the Theological Interpretation of Scripture. The intent from the first has been to provide a forum for doing interdisciplinary theology from a biblical perspective for the benefit of the Church. Each annual publication focuses on a topic crucial to the life of today’s Church. Additionally, each issue contains an annotated bibliography and a sermon, which makes it a practical guide for pastors.“
Harvard Theological Review"A quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1908 and published by Cambridge University Press on behalf of the Harvard Divinity School. It covers a wide spectrum of fields in theological and religious studies; its range is not limited to any one religious tradition or set of traditions.”
Horizons in Biblical Theology“Horizons in Biblical Theology publishes articles that address all aspects of the relationship between biblical studies and theology. This includes traditional historical readings of biblical texts, thematic studies within biblical texts and theology, explorations of methodology and hermeneutics, and even readings from within confessional traditions. The journal welcomes both technical articles that address historical and linguistic issues in biblical texts and theoretical articles that address innovations and difficulties in theological reading of texts. Contributions are peer-reviewed.“
Interpretation: A Journal of Bible & Theology“Since 1947, Interpretation has offered pastors, scholars, and theologians a valuable resource for study, preaching, and teaching. Each issue explores a theme or biblical book with writers who have relevant expertise. Four to five major articles, “Between Text and Sermon” essays, and book reviews offer a variety of options for adding to and enhancing our readers’ knowledge.“
Journal of Biblical Literature (JBL)"The flagship quarterly published by SBL, ranks as one of the top journals worldwide in the field of biblical studies. JBL was first published in 1881 and is now available in both print and electronic formats. The journal maintains a balance between articles covering the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament, as well as including some scholarship on extra-canonical materials and occasional work on more general topics such as biblical theology or ancient religious practices. Each issue of JBL includes approximately six full articles, plus one or two critical notes and approximately ten book reviews.”
Journal of Pentecostal Theology (JPS)The first academic serial to publish constructive theological research from a Pentecostal perspective on an international scholarly level. Guest articles from and exchanges with leading scholars from outside the ranks of Pentecostalism (e.g. Jurgen Moltmann, Harvey Cox, Stanley Hauerwas, and Clark Pinnock) are regularly featured, fostering the fruitful ecumenical and theological interchange that continues to expand between global Pentecostalism and the full spectrum of ecclesial and theological traditions.
Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society (JETS)“Founded in 1949, the Evangelical Theological Society (ETS) is a group of scholars, teachers, pastors, students, and others dedicated to the oral exchange and written expression of theological thought and research. The ETS is devoted to the inerrancy and inspiration of the Scriptures and the gospel of Jesus Christ. The Society publishes a quarterly journal, the Journal of the Evangelical Theological Society (JETS), an academic periodical featuring peer reviewed articles, as well as extended book reviews, in the biblical and theological disciplines. ETS also holds national and regional meetings across the United States and in Canada.”
Near Eastern Archaeology (NEA)“(NEA) brings to life the ancient world from Mesopotamia to the Mediterranean with vibrant images and authoritative analyses. NEA (ISSN 1094-2076) is published four times each year (quarterly); March, June, September, and December.All manuscripts submitted to Near Eastern Archaeology are subject to a peer review by independent scholars. All articles are sent to two external specialists in the field who are asked to evaluate the manuscripts for their academic quality; these assessment include comments on the contribution and a recommendation to the editor (accept / minor revision required / major revision required / reject). The time assigned for the review is normally 30 days; the peer review process and (if required) the resubmission of revised manuscripts is handled through NEA’s Editorial Management system. The system mandates authors in the case of revisions to state how the reviewers’ points of critique have been addressed. NEA’s Editorial Board assists the editor in the peer review process, e.g., through the recommendation of external reviewers, acceptance decisions, and the academic revision of manuscripts.”
Neotestamentica“Neotestamentica is the Journal of the New Testament Society of Southern Africa (NTSSA), which has been published annually since 1966 and currently provides two issues per annum with a total of about 450 pages. The journal showcases South African and African scholarship, including the publishing of contributions from the annual conference of the NTSSA. Submissions by international experts in the field of New Testament are also most welcome. A critical book review section is included in each issue.“
Novum Testamentum“International coverage of New testament studies, including literary and textual criticism, critical interpretation, theology and the historical and literary background of the New Testament and early Christian literature.“
Pneuma: The Journal of the Society for Pentecostal Studies“Since its founding in 1970, the SPS has become an international society of scholars interested in Pentecostal and Charismatic studies. The Journal has become a major medium for the international discussion of scholarly issues related to Pentecostal and Charismatic studies. Pneuma publishes peer-reviewed articles on matters related to the special interest groups of the SPS, namely, biblical studies, history, theology, missions, praxis, ecumenism, ethics, philosophy, and religion and culture. The Journal cherishes an ecumenical and an international vision as well. “
Studia Theologica: Nordic Journal of Theology"An international journal presenting Nordic contributions to the field of international theology.The journal is issued under the auspices of the Nordic Theological Faculties and has presented theology from the Nordic countries for more than 60 years, both for a Nordic and an international audience.Studia Theologica covers different fields and publishes articles of current interest to all theological disciplines. In addition, it publishes the annual Mowinckel lecture from the University of Oslo and summaries of Nordic dissertations in theology. All submitted manuscripts are subject to initial appraisal by the Editor, and, if found suitable for further consideration, to peer review by independent, anonymous expert referees. All peer review is double blind and submission is online via ScholarOne Manuscripts.”
Theologische Rundschau“Die Theologische Rundschau (ThR) ist eine vierteljährlich erscheinende Rezensionszeitschrift. Sie zeigt Stand und Tendenzen der theologischen Forschung auf: in umfangreichen Literaturberichten, in kürzeren Diskussionsbeiträgen, die in das jeweilige theologische Gespräch eingreifen, in thematischen Aufsätzen, die einige wenige Neuerscheinungen zum Anlass wissenschaftlicher Auseinandersetzung nehmen, in Einzelbesprechungen. Die Theologische Rundschau überbrückt seit über 90 Jahren die Kluft zwischen Theologie und Kirche sowie zwischen den theologischen Disziplinen. Im einzelnen Jahrgang der ThR sind alle zentralen theologischen Disziplinen vertreten. Die ThR bietet nicht nur das Referat, sondern auch das weiterführende Urteil. Die Beiträge werden in deutscher Sprache veröffentlicht.“
Trinity Journal“Trinity Journal is a theological journal published twice each year by the faculty of Trinity Evangelical Divinity School.Since 1980, Trinity Journal has served scholarship and the church worldwide by making timely essays and reviews available to libraries, pastors, scholars, missionaries, and interested Christian lay people . Articles deal with classic biblical, historical, and theological issues, many of pastoral importance and most of timeless significance to Christians. Authors are abreast of recent research, and they write not just to fellow scholars, but to informed Christians who want to keep their theological basis for ministry fresh and growing.“
Vetus Testamentum“Vetus Testamentum is a leading journal covering all aspects of Old Testament study. It includes articles on history, literature, religion and theology, text, versions, language, and the bearing on the Old Testament of archaeology and the study of the Ancient Near East.” Published since 1951, articles in this journal are in English, French, and German.
Westminster Theological Journal (WTJ)“(WTJ), published semi-annually, is one of America’s premier conservative theological journals, specializing in all aspects of theology, church history, and biblical interpretation. The journal’s inaugural issue appeared in 1938, making it one of America’s oldest continuous running theological journals. The journal exists to further Reformed theological scholarship and through it to serve the ministers and members of Presbyterian and Reformed churches. Each issue includes a number of scholarly articles and book reviews by seminary faculty, scholars active in their fields, and graduate students.”
Zeitschrift für Antikes Christentum/Journal of Ancient Christianity (ZAC)“(ZAC) is a refereed academic journal which aims at encouraging the dialogue between scholars of church history, history of religion, and classical antiquity with all its subdisciplines (classical and Christian Near Eastern philology, ancient history, classical and Christian archaeology, as well as the history of ancient philosophy and religion). In this context, ancient Christianity is understood in its complete prosopographic and doxographic breadth, with special emphasis on the influences of peripheral groups and related movements.The Zeitschrift für Antikes Christentum seeks to take into account that ancient Christianity developed through processes of reception and interchange with its Jewish and non-Christian environment, and can, therefore, only be researched in an interdisciplinary way. ZAC seeks to provide a forum for interdisciplinary exchange, and to act as a mediator between those disciplines that deal with ancient Christianity.”
Zeitschrift für Die Alttestamentliche Wissenschaft (ZAtW)“(ZAtW), which is published in four issues of 160 pages each plus supplements, has been the leading international and interconfessional periodical in the field of research in the Old Testament und Early Judaism for over one hundred years. Open to various ways of posing the questions of scholarship, the journal features high quality contributions in English, German, and French. Through its review of periodicals and books, it provides fast and reliable information concerning new publications in the field.”
Zeitschrift für Theologie und Kirche (ZThK)“(ZThK) is a quarterly scientific journal, (discussing) the central themes of theology and ecclesial practice. The target group is mainly students and teachers, as well as pastors and teachers who wish to gain insight into current theological research regularly.“
