GOV2213 National & State Government: Resources
A course guide for students enrolled in National and State Government at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas
WorldCat Discovery
Resources
Freedom for the Thought That We Hate by Call Number: 342.7308 L673ISBN: 9780465039173Publication Date: 2008
Understanding American Government, 3rd edition by Call Number: 320 U55ISBN: 9781596023147Publication Date: 2005A newer edition of this book is recommended.
- U.S. Constitution - AmendmentsThis page is like a synopsis or summary of the Constitution, article by article, amendment by amendment. This should not be taken as a substitute for the Constitution, but more like a study guide.
Course Description
An analysis of national, state, and local government in the United States. Study is made of the Articles of Confederation, the Federal Constitution, the national party system, the departments of government, and other areas pertaining to national government. Histories of states governments and constitutions are examined, with special emphasis upon the Constitution of the State of Texas. The state legislature, the governor and
state administration, the state court system, local government, local government problems, and other state and local issues are analyzed.
Subject Specific Databases
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowGale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints In Context is a rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues.
- Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new windowThe Handbook of Texas Online is a project of the Texas State Historical Association. The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations. Subsequent developments will include additional corrections and updates, new articles, illustrations, and audio-video media. The Handbook of Texas Online was officially released on February 15th, 1999.
- Texas Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 This link opens in a new windowA visual expression of history. Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
General Research Databases
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowOver 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new windowBiographical information for over 5,200 people across all areas of life.
- College in Context This link opens in a new windowA broad collection of resources covering all basic topics frequently encountered in college. Contains full text access to The Economist, The New York Times, and Newsweek.
- Checking Out & Downloading EBSCO eBooksDetailed instructions on how to check out and download EBSCO eBooks.
Reference & Circulation Coordinator
Vanessa Washburn
Contact:
Nelson Memorial Library
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
972-825-4766
Website Skype Contact: vwashburn@sagu.edu
Subjects: Accounting (ACC), Addictions Counseling, Behavioral Science & Community Services, Biology (BIO), Business Sports Management (BSM), Chemistry (CHE), Communication Arts, Criminal Justice, Educational Development Plan (EDP), General, General Education Studies (GES), Health & Nursing, Information Literacy, Kinesiology (KIN), Legal, Mathematics, Media (MED), Music, Music Ensemble (MUE), Physical Education (PED), Physical Science (PHY), Science & Technology, Social Work (SWK), Sociology (SOC)