Teacher Education
A guide for students enrolled in any of the Teacher Education degrees at Southwestern Assemblies of God University in Waxahachie, Texas.
Welcome!
Pro Tip: Don't forget to check the LibGuides for your specific subjects in addition to this page!
Subject-Specific Databases
- Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Covers every educational specialty, such as technology, bilingual education, health education, testing, administration, funding, and policy. - Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals. In addition, 96% of journals indexed in the database are peer-reviewed.
- TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. Our online database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
- Vocations and Careers OneFile This link opens in a new window Aids users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career.
- This link opens in a new window
Test Prep
- LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new windowTest prep and practice exams for some of the TExES exams and many others.
Lesson Planning Resources
- BLOSSOMS A free repository of videos for high school math & science classes created by gifted volunteer teachers from around the world, seeded initially by MIT faculty members and by partnering educators in Jordan and Pakistan.
- Books and Authors This link opens in a new windowContains book reviews and biographical information for both fiction and non-fiction authors.
- CK12 Flexbooks Free, open textbooks with a focus on high school STEM; it’s customizable and standards-aligned.
- Contemporary Women's Issues OneFile This link opens in a new window Covers issues that influence women's lives across the globe, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
- This link opens in a new window
- Elementary in Context This link opens in a new window Aimed at elementary students, this database provides high quality content in an age-appropriate format.
- This link opens in a new window
- Gale Interactive: Science This link opens in a new window A virtual lab that gives students in middle and high school grades the power to see beyond static text and embrace learning outside of the classroom.
- Gale OneFile: High School Edition This link opens in a new window Aimed at high school students, this resource will best serve teacher education students seeking resources for lesson planning.
- This link opens in a new window
- FreeReading An open source research-based pK-6 reading intervention program, it’s adopted by the state of Florida in 2008 as a state-approved pK-6 supplemental reading program.
- Hippocampus/NROC High school online courses with lots of multimedia ; it’s from the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education (MITE). Content for the courses was developed by college and university faculty and donated to the National Repository of Online Courses, which is also operated by MITE. The Hippocampus site allows educators to set up custom pages for their students.
- High School in Context This link opens in a new window Cross-curricular content that supports national and state high school curriculum standards.
- This link opens in a new window
- International Children's Digital Library A library for the world's children.
- LitFinder This link opens in a new window Contains the full text of plays, short stories, speeches, and plays, along with biographies, work summaries, photographs, and glossaries.
- The Math Open Reference This free interactive math textbook prototype covers high school geometry and plans to expand to other areas of math. The interactive books promise to include text, interactive quizzes, digital manipulatives and more.
- Middle School in Context This link opens in a new window Aimed at grades 6 to 12, this database provides reference content in an approachable way.
- This link opens in a new window
- National Geographic Kids This link opens in a new window Age-appropriate digital content that brigs kids the world in a way they have never seen before. Features science, nature, wildlife, culture, geography, archaeology, and space.
- TeachingBooks.net This link opens in a new window TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. Our online database is developed and maintained to include thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.
Internet Resources
- Education WeekA national newspaper covering K-12 education.
- National Association for Bilingual Education National organization exclusively concerned with the education of language-minority students in American schools.
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) Up-to-date alerts about breaking NCES news.
- National Council of Teachers of English Teaching ideas, positions, public policy center, research, and news.
General Research Databases
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering almost any topic. - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowOver 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information for over 5,200 people across all areas of life. - College in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of resources covering all basic topics frequently encountered in college. Contains full text access to The Economist, The New York Times, and Newsweek.
- Checking Out & Downloading EBSCO eBooksDetailed instructions on how to check out and download EBSCO eBooks.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering almost all topics.
