Behavioral Sciences & Community Services: Home
A guide to psychology, counseling, social work, criminal justice, and human services resources available from our library.
Databases
- PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This is the database your professors want you to use! This a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology from the APA. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. - Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
- This link opens in a new window
- Psychology OneFile This link opens in a new window Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
- This link opens in a new window
- Criminal Justice OneFile This link opens in a new window Resources for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more.
- This link opens in a new window
- Diversity Studies OneFile This link opens in a new window Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community
- This link opens in a new window
- Contemporary Women's Issues OneFile This link opens in a new window Covers issues that influence women's lives across the globe, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
- This link opens in a new window
- Gender Studies OneFile This link opens in a new window Covers topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowThis database is helpful for a number of research topics! It includes awesome information on how different situations and even treatments can affect the body. Psychology is focused on the whole person, not just the mind but the body as well. PubMed can help aid your research in treating the whole person.
- PubPsych This link opens in a new window Comprehensive and balanced selection of resources from a growing number of international databases with a European focus, covering the needs of academic and professional psychologists.
- Health and Medicine OneFile This link opens in a new window Discover periodicals and reference book content supporting research in health studies.
- This link opens in a new window
- Communications and Mass Media Onefile This link opens in a new window Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.
- This link opens in a new window
Internet Resources
- Buros Mental Measurements YearbookView the psychological tests that have been reviewed in every Buros Mental Measurements Yearbook to date. The index is in alphabetical order in the format of “[Title of Test], [#th MMY]”. It is also useful to view the test directly from the publishing source (i.e. Pearson) for information on demographics, subtests, and costs of the test itself.
- Google ScholarAn easy-to-use resource to find journal articles from reliable, peer-reviewed resources in a number of areas of study.
- Massachusetts Cross Tracking State & County Correctional Populations A public dashboard aimed at consolidating data from Massachusetts' criminal justice system.
- Owl of PurdueA user-friendly website to assist in formatting your paper and citations in APA format.
Why Use APA?
APA style may seem unnecessary (especially if you're used to MLA), but there's a reason that the American Psychological Association set up a specific style of writing for the sciences. When all articles, books, and papers are set up in the same way, we as researchers can find the information we need quickly! APA is focused on the clear communication of hypotheses, methods, and results to continue to advance the field of science.
eBooks
- Springer Link: Behavior Science and Psychology This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology and Behavioral Science eBooks from Springer Nature. - Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NEW CONTENT! Contains the Academic Complete, Health & Medicine, Reference, SciTech, and e-Libro eBook packages, over 400,000 titles. - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search thousands of eBooks from all topics, including a specially-curated collection of Bible & Theology eBooks. Most eBooks in this platform must be viewed in a web browser and cannot be downloaded, with some exceptions.
Books
Counseling and Christianity by Call Number: 253.5 C855ISBN: 9780830839780Publication Date: 2012-08-24
Counseling and Psychotherapy by Call Number: 158.3 C255ISBN: 9780131987371Publication Date: 2006-07-19
Counseling the Culturally Diverse by Call Number: 158.3 S944ISBN: 9781119084303Publication Date: 2015-12-14
Criminal Justice by Call Number: 364.973 S347ISBN: 9780137145539Publication Date: 2009-01-14
Criminal Justice Today by Call Number: R 364.973 S299ISBN: 9780132739818Publication Date: 2012-02-23
Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology by Call Number: 364.072 E47ISBN: 9780742564428Publication Date: 2010-01-16
Cross-Cultural Research Methods in Psychology by Call Number: 150.72 C951ISBN: 9780521765251Publication Date: 2010-10-11
Psychology by Call Number: 261.515 J79ISBN: 9781433539787Publication Date: 2014-11-30
Psychology As a MajorCall Number: 150.71 S386ISBN: 9781433803369Publication Date: 2008-04-15
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by Call Number: R 361.303 E56ISBN: 9780195306613Publication Date: 2008-04-17
Social Work in the 21st Century by Call Number: 361.973 G559ISBN: 9781412913164Publication Date: 2006-08-14
Social Work Values and Ethics by Call Number: 361.32 R288ISBN: 9780231161886Publication Date: 2013-07-02
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by Call Number: R 616.89 D536ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013-05-22
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by Call Number: 616.8907 C641ISBN: 9781585624638Publication Date: 2013-11-08
General Research Databases
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering almost any topic. - Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new windowOver 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
- Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information for over 5,200 people across all areas of life. - College in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of resources covering all basic topics frequently encountered in college. Contains full text access to The Economist, The New York Times, and Newsweek.
- Checking Out & Downloading EBSCO eBooksDetailed instructions on how to check out and download EBSCO eBooks.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering almost all topics.
Reference & Circulation Coordinator
Vanessa Washburn
Contact:
Nelson Memorial Library
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165
972-825-4766
Website Skype Contact: vwashburn@sagu.edu
APA (American Psychological Association)
APA 7th edition; this is the most recent edition of APA. If you specifically need APA 6th edition resources, please visit this page.
Concise Guide to APA Style by
This is the student edition of the APA 7th edition style guide. If you're a professional, please see the Publication Manual.
Call Number: 808.06615 C7445ISBN: 9781433832734Publication Date: 2019-12-01
- APA StyleThe official APA home, here you can find help for formatting, writing, and citations for all your research needs.
- What's New in the 7th Edition? A thorough list of changes that are new to the APA 7th edition, with examples to help illustrate the changes.
- Using APA FormatFrom the Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University.
- APA Style: 7th Edition Quick Reference Guide This guide provides examples for citing articles and books in APA.
- Changes between the 6th and 7th editions This article from Faculty Focus provides a chart outlining the significant changes in APA 7th edition.