Social Studies: Home

A guide for Social Studies Research

American History

Archives of Appalachia Over 300,000 digitized historical docuemtns exploring the diverse history and culture of southern Appalachia. Includes the Langston Heritage Group Collection featuring Black history.
Colonial Williamsburg
Exploring Chronicling America Newspapers Database Thousands of digitized newspapers available in an interactive map format or traditional database format.
Fold3
Gateway to Oklahoma History The Gateway is an online repository of Oklahoma history. Currently it contains many newspaper pages dating from the 1840s to the 1920s which can be viewed and searched. Other items will be added in the future.
List of States' Digital Libraries Arranged by the state, this list provides links to digital libraries/archives focusing on the history of that state.
MAYIS Indigenous Records Records related to the Chesapeake region's Indigenous Peoples.
Making of America Journals A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Mighty Eighth Air Force Collection Digitized materials documenting the Georgia-based Eight Air Force, who fought the air war on behalf of the United States against Nazi Germany in World War II.
Minnesota's Historic Shipwrecks
more...less...
Great for American West studies. Fur trade, Settlement, Early American Industry.
NYC Landmark Preservation Photos High-resolution images of designated landmarks and historic districts.

SoundTheology Religion Audio Archive This link opens in a new window he historical religion programs in this collection came from the archives, library shelves, and back rooms of many organizations. Faith groups represented include African Methodist Episcopal, Baptist, Episcopal, Lutheran, Mennonite, Methodist, Presbyterian, Quaker, Roman Catholic, Salvation Army, United Church of Christ, and others. AR-GCAH-LogoThis SoundTheology online archive is an independent service of Audio-Rescue.com, provided in conjunction with the United Methodist General Commission on Archives and History (GCAH). Many of these programs would have been lost forever if not saved in this project.

Statistical Abstracts of the United States Census Bureau American statistical data from 1878 to 2012. Statistical Abstract data present here ranges from our most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical records become available.
University of Central Arkansas Historic Photos
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
American History; Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.

World History

American Numismatic Society Collection Database
British History Online This site is an institutional repository providing access to printed primary and secondary sources, such as official records, maps, and journals, for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon Text database containing Aramaic texts in all dialects from the 9th century B.C. to the 13th century A.D.
Digital Scriptorium
Europeana Contains over 600 Medieval manuscripts.
History Channel In addition to TV shows, The History Channel offers articles, stories, and topics for historical research.
Holocaust Survivor Interviews Digitized interviews with numerous Holocaust survivors provided by the Youngstown Area Jewish Federation.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook Selected Sources Index
Southeast Asia Historical Maps Over 1,400 digitized maps of Southeast Asia from before the year 1900.

Texas History

East Texas Digital Archives
McArdle Notebooks
Portal to Texas History
Texas Treasures
Texas Archival Resources Online TARO creates descriptions and finding aids to help libraries and patrons find archives, manuscripts, and museum collections in repositories worldwide made available to the public.

Economic History

Economic History Association
The Economic History Association owns and operates the EH.net website and mailing lists to provide resources and promote communication among scholars in economic history and related fields.
Fraser: Discover Economic History | Federal Reserve
Economic History resources from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering almost any topic.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Over 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Business OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice. Also includes some international, U.S., and regional news publications.

Databases

U.S. History OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Civil Rights & Social Justice This link opens in a new window Publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more. Covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
War and Terrorism OneFile This link opens in a new window Valuable insights into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This is the definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.
- This link opens in a new window
World History OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 This link opens in a new window This free historical archive is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. This bibliography is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide, and is a valuable index for libraries, researchers and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. It was co-developed by John Alden and the Curator of European Books at The John Carter Brown Library, Dennis Landis. This electronic index represents a wide range of topics, from the British/French/Dutch in America to natural disasters, religious orders, slavery and more. The John Carter Brown Library, founded in 1846, is a foremost repository of rare books and materials and is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities.
Google Newspapers This link opens in a new window Digitized historical documents; some full-text; many free. For best use, check out ThoughtCo.'s helpful article: https://www.thoughtco.com/search-tips-for-google-news-archive-1422213
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America This link opens in a new window Brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window The Handbook of Texas Online is a project of the Texas State Historical Association. The online Handbook offers a full-text searchable version of the complete text of the six-volume print edition, all corrections incorporated in the second printing, and approximately 400 articles not included in the print edition due to space limitations. Subsequent developments will include additional corrections and updates, new articles, illustrations, and audio-video media. The Handbook of Texas Online was officially released on February 15th, 1999.
Military and Intelligence OneFile This link opens in a new window Contains hand-selected content supporting key subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970 This link opens in a new window A visual expression of history. Produced for over a century, more than 660,000 Sanborn maps chart the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. Sanborn maps are large-scale plans of a city or town, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch. They were created to assist fire insurance companies as they assessed the risk associated with insuring a particular property. The maps list street blocks and building numbers including numbers in use at the time the map was made and previous numbers.
Access to Texas maps only.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Austin American Statesman‎ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Partially replaces Newspaper Source Plus.
Contemporary Women's Issues OneFile This link opens in a new window Covers issues that influence women's lives across the globe, including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
- This link opens in a new window
Diversity Studies OneFile This link opens in a new window Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community
- This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies OneFile This link opens in a new window Covers topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is an essential new reference work covering all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. It is designed both for medievalists, who need a detailed and reliable reference tool, and for students and general readers seeking an accessible guide to the period. Over 800 scholars have assembled thousands of comprehensive entries, lavishly supplemented by hundreds of illustrations and dozens of maps.
- This link opens in a new window

General Research Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering almost any topic.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street) This link opens in a new window
Over 70,000 titles spanning all subjects, curated for the educational experience.
Biography in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biographical information for over 5,200 people across all areas of life.
College in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of resources covering all basic topics frequently encountered in college. Contains full text access to The Economist, The New York Times, and Newsweek.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Replaces EBSCO eBook Collections and Credo Reference.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Checking Out & Downloading EBSCO eBooks
Detailed instructions on how to check out and download EBSCO eBooks.

General OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database covering almost all topics.

Medieval History

DMMApp: Digitized Medieval Manuscripts App The DMMapp (Digitized Medieval Manuscripts app) links to more than 500 libraries in the world. Each one of these contains digitized medieval manuscripts that can be browsed for free.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Because of the explosion of research in Women's Studies during the past two decades, scholars and students interested in women during the Middle Ages find an ever-growing flood of publications.
Guide to Medieval Christian Spirituality This site contains both primary and secondary sources on Medieval Christian Spirituality, and is an excellent place to begin your research.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook Selected Sources Index
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) through the development and distribution of online resources
Labyrinth: Digital Resources for Medieval Studies A collection of digital resources for medieval studies organized by category, including Art, Armor, Crusades, Gender, Manuscripts, and many others. The site may be browsed by category or searched, and each link is accompanied by a brief description of its contents.
Medieval Church An internet resource for studying the church of the middle ages.
Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts
MeMO: Medieval Memoria Online Inventories and descriptions of objects and texts that had a function in the commemoration of the dead in the area that is currently the Netherlands, until 1580.
MESA: Medieval Electronic Scholarly Alliance Scholarly resources in medieval studies.
Online Medieval Sources Bibliography Detailed information about modern editions - both in print and online - of medieval primary sources.

Reference & Circulation Coordinator

Vanessa Washburn

Email Me

Contact:

Nelson Memorial Library
1200 Sycamore St.
Waxahachie, TX 75165

972-825-4766

Subjects: Biology (BIO), Chemistry (CHE), Counseling (COU), Counseling / Psychology, Criminal Justice (CJU), Educational Development Plan (EDP), General, General Education Studies (GES), Math (MTH), Mathematics, Physical Education (PED), Physical Science (PHY), Psychology (PSY), Science & Technology, Social Work (SWK)

Books

Slow Train to Sonora by Loyd M. Uglow
Call Number: 813.630874 U26
ISBN: 9781432834135
Publication Date: 2017
Son of the Morning Star by Evan S. Connell
Call Number: 973.82 C752
ISBN: 9780865475106
Publication Date: 1997

The Duel by John Lukacs
Call Number: 943.086 L954
ISBN: 0300089163
Publication Date: 2001
The Last Lion by William Manchester; Paul Reid
Call Number: 941.087 M268
ISBN: 9780316547703
Publication Date: 2012

Science and Religion by Gary B. Ferngren (Editor)
Call Number: 201.6509 S416
ISBN: 9781421421728
Publication Date: 2017
Warfare in Medieval Europe C. 400-C. 1453 by Bernard S. Bachrach; David Bachrach
Call Number: 355.0209 B124
ISBN: 9781138887657
Publication Date: 2016

Archaeology of the Bible by Jean-Pierre Isbouts
Call Number: 220.93 I76
ISBN: 9781426217043
Publication Date: 2016
The World of the New Testament by Joel B. Green (Editor); Lee Martin McDonald (Editor)
Call Number: 225.95 W927
ISBN: 9780801098611
Publication Date: 2017

Archaeology

Abstract of International Conservation Literature (AATA) AATA database contains abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. Also, includes subject-specific bibliographies .
Abzu (Electronic Tools and Ancient Near East Archives) Abzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
Archaeological Institute of America An introduction to the basics of archaeology

Comparative Archaeology Database This link opens in a new window Comparative research in archaeology draw upon datasets from all parts of the world. These datasets document the material evidence of the human past and comprise the primary sources for archaeological research.

Hieroglyphs Step by Step A tool for learning to read hieroglyphs.

National Archaeological Database (NADB) This link opens in a new window NADB is network for the archeological and historic preservation. It was established to improve access to information on archeological activities nationwide.

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites Covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.
World Heritage List It gives information about World Heritage List, World Heritage in Danger, New Inscriptions Criteria, Tentative Lists, World Heritage List Nominations etc. also contains publications.