Skip to main content

Information Literacy: Zotero

A guide to finding better resources, avoiding plagiarism, and writing better papers.

What Is Zotero?

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share research.

You can use Zotero on Mac, Windows, and Linux; you can also quickly create bibliographies online with ZoteroBib. 

Zotero lets you organize your sources into folders, add tags for quick access later, and attach the full-text of the resource to the record. Additionally, Zotero offers plug-ins for Microsoft Word (Windows & Mac) and Google Docs for quickly inserting your in-text citations and creating your Works Cited/Reference List/Bibliography.

What styles does Zotero support?

Zotero supports thousands of styles, including APA, MLA, and Chicago/Turabian. You can easily add styles to your downloaded app, and you can always tweak your citations/bibliographies to adhere to any professor or department requirements.

Bible & Theology students, don't forget to check with the BibTheo Turabian guide for how to tweak your Turabian citations.

What is Zotero?

How do I get Zotero?

Using Zotero with SAGU Databases

Many SAGU Databases (like PsycAarticles or ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials) let you export the citation and full-text of the article (when available) directly into Zotero. Additionally, the Chrome extension allows you to easily save resources from around the web directly to Zotero.

Who do I contact for help?

Tiffany Hudson's picture
Tiffany Hudson
Contact:
Nelson Memorial Library
1200 Sycamore Street
Waxahachie, TX 75165
972.923.5479
Website